Report on the Release of Prisoners in the Last 24 Hours

In the past 24 hours, several prisoners of conscience were released from different prisons across Iran. Although details of these releases are still unknown, they are likely released under recent approval to “pardon and commute” the sentence of some prisoners.

Of these pardoned prisoners, the most known prisoners are:

  1. Film Director Mohammad Rasoulof from Evin Prison
  2. Azerbaijani (Turk) activist Akbar Naeimi from Evin Prison
  3. Gonabadi Dervish Mostafa Abdi from Evin Prison
  4. Political prisoner Forough Taghipour from Evin Prison
  5. Women rights activist Maryam Mohammadi from Evin Prison
  6. Women rights activist Asrin Darkaleh from Evin Prison
  7. Political prisoner Kazem Alinejad Baraloo Evin Prison
  8. Farshad Ahmadi from Evin Prison
  9. Political prisoner Khadijeh Mehdipour from Ilam Prison
  10. Mahsa Mohammadi from Isfahan Prison
  11. Tohid Goreishi from Rajai Shahr Prison, Karaj
  12. Worker’s rights activist Esmail Gerami from Rajai Shahr Prison, Karaj
  13. Political prisoner Mojtaba Tavakol from Rajai Shahr Prison, Karaj
  14. Shahrooz Ramezan Afshar from Rajai Shahr Prison, Karaj
  15. Mehdi Abbaspour from Rajai Shahr Prison, Karaj
  16. Civil rights activist Zartosht Ahmadi Ragheb from Rajai Shahr Prison, Karaj
  17. Soheila Ojaghi from Qarchak Prison, Varamin

Moreover, the legal cases against Milad Alavi,(journalist), Elham Sayrafi and Amir Sheibani Zaveh were closed without further legal proceedings.

Earlier, the head of the Judiciary proposed the issuance of a pardon decree for some prisoners, including those arrested at recent protests, which was approved by Ali Khamenei under some conditions which the legal case should meet.