7 Sunni Prisoners Sentenced to Death by the Revolutionary Court

HRANA News Agency – On May 25, 2016, the death sentences of seven Sunni prisoners in Rajai Shahr prison was notified to them. This verdict was issued by Branch 28 of the Revolutionary Court headed by judge Moghiseh.
According to the report of Human Rights Activists News Agency in Iran (HRANA), Davood Abdollahi, Kamran Sheikhi, Farhad Salimi, Anvar Khezri, Khosrow Besharat, Ghasem Abesteh and Ayoub Karimi, are the seven Sunnis prisoners who were detained since December 7, 2009 and have been sentenced to death.
The hearing of these prisoners had been held at Branch 28 of the Revolutionary Court headed by judge Moghiseh, on May 25, 2016.
The prisoners appealed in writing so the case will be reviewed by the Supreme Court for the final result.
They did not have the opportunity to defend themselves in the court and were not allowed to benefit from the presence of a lawyer of their own choosing.
The Sunni prisoners have been sentenced to death by the judiciary on charges of acting against national security, propaganda against the system, membership in the Salafist groups, corruption on earth and Muharebeh. The details about their activities have not be published by authorities and judicial organs.
According to the information which HRANA was provided with, the defendants denied involvement in armed conflicts and said that they had been arrested only because of their believes and religious activities such as attending meetings and distributing religious literature.
It is worth noting that HRANA has previously published the names of 27 death row Sunni prisoners in Rajai Shahr prison whose sentences have been confirmed by the Supreme Court.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *