The Names of 32 Prisoners who Have Been Charged with Muharebeh

HRANA News Agency – More than 70 political prisoners are kept in Rajaei Shahr and Evin prisons who have been charged with Muharebeh. Considering the recent changes in the penal code, they need to be re-tried. After a re-trial most of these prisoners are expected to be released. HRANA published the names of 32 prisoners of these two prisons who have been charged with Muharebeh.
According to the report of Human Rights Activists News Agency (HRANA), considering the fact that article 186 has been superseded, political prisoners with the charge of Muharebeh need to be re-tried. Therefore the names of 32 prisoners who are imprisoned in Evin and Rajaei Shahr prisons on this charge are being published by HRANA.
Article 186 of the Islamic penal code had implied, “If someone is following the goals of a party or armed group, under the condition that the leadership of the group still exists, and carry out effective actions in that regard (advocative or membership), he will be recognized as sacrilegious and will receive related punishments”.
The article 288 that superseded article 186 implies, “A group that commits armed actions against the Islamic Republic of Iran’s government is recognized as rebel and in case of using weapons, their members will be sentenced to death”.
Previously a group of political prisoners published a letter, and discussed the changes of law and analyzed it from religious and legal perspectives. This letter was supported by two well-known lawyers, Abdulfattah Soltani and Mohammad Saif Zadeh.
Mohammad Moghimi, lawyer and human rights activist, told HRANA’s reporter in this regard, “The pressure of public opinion and human rights organizations should provide the foundation of implementation of this new law, that would result in release of these defendants”.
Previously HRANA had published the names of 27 death row Sunni prisoners.
The list includes the name, family name, year of arrest and verdict of each prisoners respectively:
Rajaei Shahr prison:
Mohammad Nazari, 1993, life time prison
Khaled Freydooni, 1998, life time prison
Omar Faghihpoor, 1998, life time prison
Khaled Hardani, 2000, life time prison
Farhang Poormansour, 2000, life time prison
Shahram Poormansour, 2000, life time prison
Saeid Masoori, 2000, life time prison
Afshin Baymani, 2000, life time prison
Hamzeh Savari, 2005, life time prison
Jafar Eghdami, 2007, 10 years in prison
Pirouz Mansouri, 2007, 18 years in prison
Saleh Kohandel, 2007, 10 years in prison
Hasan Sadeghi, 2015, 15 years in prison
Abulghasem Fooladvand, 2013, 15 years in prison
Hasan Ashtiani, 2013, 15 years in prison
Ramazan Ahmad Kamal, 2008, 10 years in prison
Mohammad Akramipoor, 2013, 15 years in prison
Paiman Arefi, 2009, 15 years in prison
Ahmad Karimi, 2009, 15 years in prison
Zanyar Moradi, 2008, death
Loghman Moradi, 2008, death
Hooshang Rezaei, 2010, death
Evin prison:
Ahmad Daneshpoor Moghadam, 2009, death
Mohsen Daneshpoor Moghadam, 2009, death
Ali Zahed, 2008, life time prison
Hadi Ghaemi, 2009, 15 years in prison
Raihaneh Haj Ibrahim Dabagh, 2009, 15 years in prison
Maryam Akbari Monfared, 2009, 15 years in prison
Fatemeh Mosanna, 2013, 15 years in prison
Sadigheh Moradi, 2013, 10 years in prison
Behnaz Zakeri Ansari, 2012, 10 years in prison
Zahra Zehtabchi, 2013, 12 years in prison

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *